Skip to main content

Sociology: Reference Resources

A guide to sociology resources at MCCC.

Subject Encyclopedias

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences REF H 40 .A215 2008 v.1 - v.8
Comprised of eight volumes and over 4,000 pages, this encyclopedia contains more than 3,000 entries by 1,200+ authors covering the social sciences. The set highlights the expanding role of economics in social science research. Topics covered include: censorship, personality measurement, aging, income distribution, food (world problems, consumption patterns), cultural adaptation, comparative health-care systems, terrorism, political correctness, legislation of morality, sexual violence and exploitation, white collar crime.

Social Issues HM 17 .E5152 1998
Containing a selection of entries from Macmillan's larger Encyclopedia of Sociology, Social Issues offers a wide range of selected topics covered in sociology. Important topics such as those pertaining to social movements and organized groups seeking to change society are covered in this single volume. Not included are articles on methodological research, theoretical entries and those pertaining only to the most academic sociologist have been excluded from the work. The wide range of topics covered include: family, religion, crime, substance abuse, economic policies and many more.

Everyday Life: American Social History HN 57 .E93 1998
Everyday Life: American Social History contains selections from the three volume Encyclopedia of American Social History. The selection of articles attempts to chronicle everyday life for Americans. Entries examine the change over time in the fabric of ordinary experience. Topics included range throughout the spectrum of everyday experience such as: food, physical space (towns, farms, cities and suburbs) and their impact on social life, patterns of everyday life, life cycle phases and the impact of science and technology on Americans. 

Subject Dictionaries

A Dictionary of Sociology 4th Ed.

This wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary covers terminology, concepts, and thinkers in the field of sociology, as well as from the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science.

For this fourth edition, Professor John Scott has conducted a thorough review of all entries to ensure that they are concise, focused, and up to date. Revisions reflect current intellectual debates and social conditions, particularly in relation to global and multi-cultural issues. New entries by a range of expert contributors cover relevant contemporary concepts, such as climate change, social media, terrorism, and intersectionality, as well as key living sociologists.

A Dictionary of Social Research Methods

This dictionary offers succinct, clear, expert explanations of key terms from both method and methodology in social research. It covers the whole range of qualitative, quantitative, and other methods, and it ranges from practical techniques like correlation up to methodological approaches such as ethnography. This wide-ranging approach enables it to cover terms needed by every social science discipline along with business and management, education, health, and other areas that encompass social research within their remit.

A Dictionary of Gender Studies

This dictionary provides clear and accessible definitions of a range of terms from within the fast-developing field of Gender Studies. It covers terms which have emerged out of Gender Studies, such as cyber feminism, the double burden, and the male gaze, and gender-focused definitions of more general terms, such as housework, intersectionality, and trolling. It also covers major feminist figures, including Hélène Cixous, bell hooks, and Mary Wollstonecraft, as well as groups and movements from Votes for Women to Reclaim the Night.

Contact Us

Mercer County Community College Library 1200 Old Trenton Rd. West Windsor NJ 08550 Phone: 609-570-3561 e-mail: library@mccc.edu