Skip to main content

Sociology: Statistical & Government Resources for Sociology

A guide to sociology resources at MCCC.

Stat & Govt. Resources

American FactFinder
An easy-to-use tool that provides US Census data from 1990 to the present. Access data from the Decennial Census (1990 and 2000), the Economic Census (1997 and 2002), Annual Population Estimates (2005-06), Annual Economic Surveys (2003-05), and American Community Survey as they become available.

Human Development Reports
A full text database for the United Nations Human Development Report. The report, an independent study commissioned by the U.N., goes beyond income statistics and asses the level of people's long-term-well-being. The report publishes information on global, regional, and national reports, describing development issues, including human rights, poverty, education, economic reform, HIV/AIDS, globalization, capacity building, and partnerships worldwide.

United States Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics
The Bureau of Justice Statistics collects, analyzes, publishes and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime and the operation of justice systems at all levels of governments. The data is collected from all levels of government: federal, state and local municipalities. The Bureau of Justice Statistics annually publishes information on criminal victimization, populations under correctional supervision and federal criminal offenders and case processing.

United States Census Bureau
Census statistics have been collected in the United States every ten years since 1790. The United States Census provides detailed statistical information on a variety of aspects of American life beyond population. The Census Bureau website contains publications regarding population, economics, business and industry and geography.

Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive
The Cultural Policy & the Arts National Data Archive is an interactive digital archive of data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States. The archive is a collaborative effort of Princeton University's Firestone Library and the Princeton Center for Arts and Cultural Policy Studies. It includes data on artists, arts and cultural organizations, audiences, and funding for arts and culture. Data sets can be viewed by title, state or subject.

United Nations Common Database
This database consists of collections of statistical information for countries collected from the United Nations and related international governmental organizations. A wide range of topics are covered include population composition and change; human settlements, households and families, marital status, health services, education and learning, socio-economic groups and social mobility, communication and culture. 

Contact Us

Mercer County Community College Library 1200 Old Trenton Rd. West Windsor NJ 08550 Phone: 609-570-3561 e-mail: library@mccc.edu