LibGuides: PHI THETA KAPPA: Research

News Databases

CBS News 60 Minutes

CBS News 60 MINUTES offers unprecedented access to transcripts and nearly 500 hours of video from 1997–2014. Available in the US Newsstream Collection, 60 MINUTES is among the most respected television journalism programs in the world. Each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic. Segments are also included from CBS News program Sunday Morning, whose timely news pieces, cultural features, and newsmaker profiles form an ideal complement to 60 MINUTES content.
Ethnic NewsWatch
part of VALE – Virtual Academic Library Environment of New Jersey

Ethnic NewsWatch is a collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals published by ethnic, minority, and native presses. These titles offer a wide range of viewpoints not offered in the mainstream press. The collection includes over 2.5 million articles from more than 300 publications. The majority the articles in the collection in English, but around 25% are in Spanish.
GenderWatch
part of VALE – Virtual Academic Library Environment of New Jersey

GenderWatch is an index of scholarly literature and popular publications that show how gender impacts a wide range of subject areas. Areas covered include childcare, femininity, feminism, gender roles, gender identity, masculinity, religion, sexuality, workplace roles, and more.
International NewsStream

International NewsStream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International NewsStream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Newspaper Source Plus

Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Regional Business News
US Hispanic NewsStream

U.S. Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago). All of the content in ProQuest U.S. Hispanic NewsStream is available on the ProQuest platform and is cross searchable with other ProQuest databases.
US NewsStream

U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. NewsStream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.

Coverage: 1980 - current

Issues Databases

Issues and Controversies

Featuring a dynamic design and a wealth of features, Issues & Controversies helps researchers understand today's crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
Points of View Reference Center
brought to you by Jersey Clicks for NJ residents only

Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
ProCon.org

ProCon.org is a non-profit charitable organization headquartered in Santa Monica, California in the United States. It operates the ProCon.org website, an online resource for research on controversial issues.

Recommended Research Databases

JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library founded in 1994. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals.
ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Wiley Online Database

Wiley Online Library delivers access to over 4 million articles from 1,600 journals, more than 22,000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, and databases from John Wiley & Sons and its imprints, including Wiley-Blackwell, Wiley-VCH, and Jossey-Bass.

Ebooks

Ebook Central

Ebook Central includes online versions of print books that the library either purchased with a perpetual license or via an annual subscription. eBooks that are owned will be available to the library in perpetuity, with provisions being made for long term access and preservation.
eBook Collection

This database contains all of the full text eBooks that MCCC purchases from EBSCO, including eBooks from your eBook Subscription Collections, as well as single eBook titles.
eBook Open Access (OA) Collection

A multidisciplinary collection of eBooks, created in cooperation with university presses and scholarly publishers in the Open Access model. The collection offers access to thousands of titles on various topics, without DRM (digital rights management) restrictions.

Research Tutorial from JSTOR

Research Basics: an open academic research skills course
Welcome to the ever-expanding universe of scholarly research!
There's a lot of digital content out there, and we want to help you get a handle on it. Where do you start? What do you do? How do you use it? Don’t worry, this course has you covered.

This introductory program was created by JSTOR to help you get familiar with basic research concepts needed for success in school. The course contains three modules, each made up of three short lessons and three sets of practice quizzes. The topics covered are subjects that will help you prepare for college-level research. Each module ends with an assessment to test your knowledge.

The JSTOR librarians who helped create the course hope you learn from the experience and feel ready to research when you’ve finished this program. Select Module 1: Effective Searching to begin the course. Good luck!

Internet Resources

The Physiology of Play

How Do Playful People Play? Gendered and Racial Leisure Perspectives, Motives, and Preferences of College Students

Research on the Relationship Between College Students’ Participation in Sports Activities and Self-Harmony Assessment Based on the Moderating and Mediating Effects of Mental Toughness

EXAMINING THE SOCIAL INFLUENCE ON COLLEGE STUDENTS FOR PLAYING ONLINE GAME: GENDER DIFFERENCES AND IMPLICATIONS

PHI THETA KAPPA: Research

News Databases

Issues Databases

Recommended Research Databases

Ebooks

Research Tutorial from JSTOR

Internet Resources

Dan's Recommendations