Critical Thinking and Logic: Types of Logic

Informal Logic - Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy – see more resource links at end

• AGORA-net: Argument mapping
• ARGDIAP: A Polish initiative dedicated to the issues of argumentation, dialogue and persuasion
• ARG-tech: Centre for Argument Technology
• Argument and Computation
• Centre for Argument Technology
• The listserv ARGTHRY: Argument Theory
• The Arguer’s Lexicon, A lexicon of the names of informal logicians and other argumentation theorists.
• Argumentation et Analyse du Discours
• Automated Argument Assistance
• Centre for Research in Reasoning, Argumentation & Rhetoric
• Cogency: Journal of Reasoning and Argumentation
• COMMA: Computational Models of Argument
• Fallacies, entry by Bradley Dowden in the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy, J. Fieser (ed.)
• Fallacies: The Nizkor Project
• Informal Logic
• International Society for the Study of Argumentation (ISSA)
• Logical Fallacies
• Ontario Society for the Study of Argumentation (OSSA)
• The Periodic Table of Arguments
• Silva Rhetoricae: The Forest of Rhetoric
• Studies in Logic, Grammar and Rhetoric
• Virtues and Arguments: A Bibliography
• Windsor Studies in Argumentation

Inductive Logic - Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy – see more resource links at end

• Confirmation and Induction. Really nice overview by Franz Huber in the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy.
• Inductive Logic, (in PDF), by Branden Fitelson, Philosophy of Science: An Encyclopedia, (J. Pfeifer and S. Sarkar, eds.), Routledge. An extensive encyclopedia article on inductive logic.
• Teaching Theory of Knowledge: Probability and Induction. A very extensive outline of issues in Probability and Induction, each topic accompanied by a list of relevant books and articles (without links), compiled by Brad Armendt and Martin Curd.
• Bayesian Networks Without Tears, (in PDF), by Eugene Charniak (Computer Science and Cognitive Science, Brown University). An introductory article on Bayesian inference.
• Miscellany of Works on Probabilistic Thinking. A collection of on-line articles on Subjective Probability and probabilistic reasoning by Richard Jeffrey and by several other philosophers writing on related issues.
• Fitelson’s course on Confirmation Theory. Main page of Branden Fitelson’s course on Confirmation Theory. The Syllabus provides an extensive list of links to readings. The Notes, Handouts, & Links page has Fitelson’s weekly course notes and some links to useful internet resources on confirmation theory.

Fitelson’s course on Probability and Induction. Main page of Branden Fitelson’s course on Probability and Induction. The Syllabus provides an extensive list of links to readings on the subject. The Notes & Handouts page has Fitelson’s powerpoint slides for each of his lectures and some links to handouts for the course. The Links page contains links to some useful internet

Mill's methods for identifying causes

Induction by Analogy

Analogical Arguments

Analogy and Analogical Reasoning - Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy – see more resource links at end

• Crowther, K., N. Linnemann, and C. Wüthrich, 2018, “What we cannot learn from analogue experiments,” online at arXiv.org.
• Dardashti, R., S. Hartmann, K. Thébault, and E. Winsberg, 2018, “Hawking Radiation and Analogue Experiments: A Bayesian Analysis,” online at PhilSci Archive.
• Norton, J., 2018. “Analogy”, unpublished draft, University of Pittsburgh.
• Resources for Research on Analogy: a Multi-Disciplinary Guide (University of Windsor)
• UCLA Reasoning Lab (UCLA)
• Dedre Gentner’s publications (Northwestern University)
• The Center for Research on Concepts and Cognition (Indiana University)

Interpretations of Probability- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy – see more resource links at end

Probabilistic Causation - Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy – see more resource links at end

Bayesian Epistemology - Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy – see more resource links at end

Bayesian Theorem - Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy – see more resource links at end